The Tender Bar

A memoir

MOEHRINGER J. R.

Info:
Sceptre, 2021 - brož., 432 str.
EAN:
9781529394429
ISBN:
978-15-293-9442-9
Edice:
Současná beletrie/Beletrie

Hodnocení:

0 hodnocení The Tender Bar 0

Pro hodnocení se přihlaste nebo zaregistrujte

In the tradition of THIS BOYS LIFE and THE LIARS CLUB, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar. In the rich tradition of bestselling memoirs about self-invention, The Tender Bar is by turns riveting, moving, and achingly funny. An evocative portrait of one boys struggle to become a man, its also a touching depiction of how some men remain lost boys. JR Moehringer grew up listening for a voice, the voice of his missing father, a DJ who disappeared before JR spoke his first words. As a boy, JR would press his ear to a battered clock radio, straining to hear in that resonant voice the secrets of identity and masculinity. When the voice disappeared, JR found new voices in the bar on the corner. A grand old New York saloon, the bar was a sanctuary for all sorts of men -- cops and poets, actors and lawyers, gamblers and stumblebums. The flamboyant characters along the bar taught JR, tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood by committee. Torn between his love for his mother and the lure of the bar, JR forged a boyhood somewhere in the middle. When the time came to leave home, the bar became a way station -- from JRs entrance to Yale, where he floundered as a scholarship student; to Lord & Taylor, where he spent a humbling stint peddling housewares; to the New York Times, where he became a faulty cog in a vast machine. The bar offered shelter from failure, from rejection, and eventually from reality, until at last the bar turned JR away.

The Tender Bar

Po přihlášení si titul můžete přidat na seznam přání.

Doporučit knihu

E-shop nově v provozu na www.kanzelsberger.cz

Nejbližší prodejny

Chcete vědět jestli je kniha dostupná v prodejně ve Vašem okolí?

Dostupnost na prodejně

Kniha je dostupná

Vyberte prodejnu

Dostupnost na prodejnách

V seznamu si můžete vybrat vámi preferovanou prodejnu. Dostupnost na této prodejně se Vám bude následně zobrazovat i u dalších titulů.

Lze objednat

U těchto poboček se dodací lhůta může lišit.
  • Barvič a Novotný - Brno, Česká
  • Benešov
  • Beroun
  • Blatná
  • Brno FUTURUM
  • Brno Masarykova
  • Břeclav
  • Č. Budějovice, Kanovnická
  • Čelákovice
  • Česká Lípa
  • Děčín - Centrum Pivovar
  • Hr. Králové ČSA
  • Hr. Králové Dukelská tř.
  • Chrudim
  • Jablonec nad Nisou
  • Jeseník
  • Jičín
  • Jihlava
  • Jindřichův Hradec, Panská 110
  • Jindřichův Hradec, Panská 132
  • K. Vary OC Varyáda
  • Kladno Poděbradova
  • Klatovy
  • Krnov
  • Kroměříž
  • Litvínov
  • Ml. Boleslav OC Olympia
  • Náchod
  • Nymburk
  • Olomouc OC Olympia
  • Pardubice
  • Písek
  • Plzeň OC Olympia
  • Poděbrady
  • Praha 10 - Vršovice
  • Praha 7 - Stromovka
  • Praha Čs. Armády
  • Praha NC Fénix
  • Praha OC Krakov
  • Praha OC Lužiny
  • Praha Strašnice
  • Prostějov
  • Přerov
  • Rakovník
  • Rokycany
  • Sedlčany
  • Slaný
  • Soběslav
  • Strakonice
  • Svitavy
  • Tábor
  • Teplice OC Olympia
  • Trutnov
  • Vsetín OC Galerie
  • Vyškov
  • Zlín
  • Znojmo
  • Žatec
  • Žďár nad Sázavou

Tip

Kterýkoliv titul si můžete objednat i s vyzvednu­tím na Vaší prodejně. Ověřte si stav zboží na prodejně telefonicky, nebo mailem před Vaší návštěvou.

Další knihy z kategorie Beletrie (28113)

Recenze produktu The Tender Bar

Tento produkt nemá ještě žádnou recenzi. Buďte první, kdo ji napíše.



Přihlášení

Zapomněli jste?

Neplatná kombinace jména a hesla.